Link to ROC Facebook Link to Twitter Link to Youtube    Skip Navigation Links
About The ROC
Field Requirements BranchExpand Field Requirements Branch
EngineeringExpand Engineering
OperationsExpand Operations
Program BranchExpand Program Branch
Current WeatherExpand Current Weather
Level I Data
Level II Data
Level III Data
Related LinksExpand Related Links
ROC Papers
Safety &
Expand Safety &<br> Environmental
Site ID / MapsExpand Site ID / Maps
Software Build InformationExpand Software Build Information
Wind ProfilerExpand Wind Profiler
Expand System<br>Documentation
WSR-88D ProgramExpand WSR-88D Program
Questions & Comments

TAC Membership

The NEXRAD Technical Advisory Committee (TAC) is chartered by the NEXRAD Program Management Committee. The TAC is composed of a Chair; an Executive Secretary; four members each from the Departments of Commerce, Defense, and Transportation; and, two at-large members. The Chair's term is two years (renewable); the Executive Secretary's position is fixed by the charter; agency members serve indefinite terms at the pleasure of their Departments; and, the at-large members are appointed by the Chair. See the charter on the Reference page for more information.

Dr. John T. Snow
Regents' Professor of Meteorology
Dean Emeritus, College of Atmospheric and Geographic Sciences
The University of Oklahoma
National Weather Center, Suite 5710
120 David L. Boren Blvd
Norman, OK 73072
Appointed: December 2001
Bill Ward
NEXRAD Radar Operations Center


Department of Commerce
Kurt Hondl
Deputy Director,
Appointed: June 2021
Dan Miller
Science and Operations Officer
NOAA/NWS/Weather Forecast office
Portland, OR
Appointed: 2014
Michael Istok
Physical Scientist
NEXRAD Radar Operations Center
Appointed: 2007
Lee Crowley
Senior Hydro-meteorological Analysis and Support Forecaster, Arkansas-Red River Forecast Center
Appointed: June 2014

Department of Defense

Randy Silver
Electronics Engineer
Radar Operations Center
Appointed: August 2020

Department of Transportation

Todd Pattison
FAA/AJW-14A ITWS Lead Engineer
Appointed: March 2007
Doug Murphy
FAA WARP and Weather Programs
Appointed: May 2019
Jim Evans
Lincoln Laboratory
Appointed: June 2000
Dr. David Smalley
Lincoln Laboratory
Appointed: May 2019


Dr. Tammy Weckwerth
P.O. Box 3000
Boulder CO 80307
Appointed: January 2017